The MU forums have moved to WordPress.org

Best Hosting Plan/Service for WordPress MU? (15 posts)

1. benny148148148
    Posted 15 years ago #

I'm planning on switching from WordPress to MU, but when I do this I'll need to switch hosting plans, since I'm currently just on a shared plan at GoDaddy (I know, don't get me started)...

I've been looking at Media Temple's Grid Server, and they list MU as being compatible for it, but I'd like to get your thoughts on other hosting ideas.

I'm pretty much open to anything, but I'm just a college student with limited funds, so I'd prefer a low-cost solution if possible. I'm very well aware that shared hosting is not an option for MU, but MT Grid Server seems promising for just $20/month.

I've searched these forums for threads about MT, but the topics are a year old and I don't know how much I should rely on them...

Any thoughts/suggestions on hosting plans?

2. xenon2050
    Posted 15 years ago #

I am using JetnetHost, and I love them. I have two sites hosted with them and they have been very helpful in getting my WPMU site up and running.

Some may say that their prices are high, but for the service they render they are downright cheap. The plan I'm on is the personal one at $8 USD a month and that includes a free domain at signup.

3. tdjcbe
    Posted 15 years ago #

It also depends on how large you plan your mu to be. Most of our mu installs are scattered within our shared hosting boxes but we keep our average boxes fairly low, about 200 clients a piece on dual intel 3.0's with HT and 12 gigs of memory.

Our one large install is on a pair of those servers but it runs about 30k blogs, over 1k blogs active.

Have to admit though that I normally suggest a VPS from the start but I suggest that usually so you can have total control over what you;re doing. A managed VPS would be best if you don;t have any experience with hosting or server management.