The MU forums have moved to WordPress.org

Fresh Install - Cant Log In (11 posts)

1. Ice-Child
    Posted 14 years ago #

I just installed it fresh, clean directory. So not an upgrade or installing over something else. It runs great, right up to the point it tells me to log in with admin. I put the login in and password, with a copy and paste of the password. It says invalid password. I am also having a problem in that it isn't emailing me. I set it up proper, I get no installed email, nor do I get an email when I tell it to send me new password. I am new to this setup, so I would be grateful.

Thanks
    Rob

2. bschwarting
    Posted 14 years ago #

watch for a space before or after the password. i think i remember mine would copy/paste a space at the end and it wouldn't work.

3. Ice-Child
    Posted 14 years ago #

Its not emailing me either, so am figuring what ever is causing it is more then just a space in the password. Am wiping the drive clean and starting over, see if that cures it, hopefully, but not counting my eggs yet. Let ya know in about 5 minutes.

4. Ice-Child
    Posted 14 years ago #

Nope, clean install and it still tells me "ERROR: Incorrect password." Cleared the old database out and did it completely fresh. Walks straight through till it ask me for password. I still do not get the email from the install and cant get it to send me a password because it for some reason wont send an email. One more try then I go back to using one copy of wordpress and one copy of moveable type. I hate having to use multiple databases but when all else fails fall back to old reliable. This would be a god send, can ditch the forums and just use blogs. Its about all we do anyway. If I could ever get it to work is all.

5. Ice-Child
    Posted 14 years ago #

Ok, my son was watching me set up my regular wordpress. He wants one now, which means I need to get MU working, so ANY input would be helpful. I need more then just two blogs now, so haven't got much choice.