The MU forums have moved to WordPress.org

Domain Mapping failing to work (I'm failing to get it to work) (17 posts)

1. jonperry
    Posted 14 years ago #

I'm new to the amazing world of MU. I'm loving it but it sure is humbling me.

I cant get the Domain Mapping plugin to work for me. I'm following the steps correctly but number 5 has me stumped.

Here are the instructions in case anyone needs a re-fresh:

1. Copy sunrise.php into wp-content/. If there is a sunrise.php there already, you'll just have to merge them as best you can.
    2. Copy domain_mapping.php into wp-content/mu-plugins/.
    3. Edit wp-config.php and uncomment the SUNRISE definition line: define( 'SUNRISE', 'on' );
    4. As a "site admin", visit Manage->Domain Mapping to create the domain mapping database table and set the server IP address.
    5. Make sure the default Apache virtual host points at your WordPress MU site so it will handle unknown domains correctly. (Need info on cpanel, etc. How do you get them to respond to any domain?)

When I set up a domain for a blog to map to I get an aqua colored page with the following message:

Great Success !
    Apache is working on your cPanel® and WHM™ Server

If you can see this page, then the people who manage this server have installed cPanel and WebHost Manager (WHM) which use the Apache Web server software and the Apache Interface to OpenSSL (mod_ssl) successfully. They now have to add content to this directory and replace this placeholder page, or else point the server at their real content.
    ATTENTION!

If you are seeing this page instead of the site you expected, please contact the administrator of the site involved...

Unfortunately for me, I am the administrator of the site involved.

Please Help! I'll love you for it.

I'm with Surpass Hosting if that matters to anyone. I have a reseller account with a cpanel and a WHM panel.

2. andrea_r
    Posted 14 years ago #