The MU forums have moved to WordPress.org

Amazon EC2 + S3 + WPMU + BuddyPress (7 posts)

1. hempsworth
    Posted 14 years ago #

I'm setting up a social network for international youth groups, and can expect some quite high traffic - especially when we start hosting photos and videos later in the year. We decided we would need a VPS for the flexibility it provides, and would be using Amazon S3 for storage anyway - so EC2 sounded great.

I'm extremely new to server administration, I dipped my toe in with SSH access with DreamHost for the past year, so managing a server myself will be quite a jump! This is the setup I've been thinking of:

* Linux distro (TBD)
    * lighttpd 1.4.22
    * PHP 5.2.9 + XCache or eAccelerator
    * mySQL 5.1

And I'll probably run the current trunk versions of WPMU, BP and bbPress; unless I get any major problems with them.

What I'd like to know form anybody with server knowledge;

* What would be the best linux distro to use?
    * Which is best for this, XCache or eAccelerator?
    * I have an unused PC at home, if I installed linux on it and the above components, would it give me an adequate place to try things out? Effectively a staging server at home...?
    * Any known caveats using Amazon EC2 and S3?

Cheers, it was WP that got me into PHP, so hopefully it can do the same for sysadmin stuff!

2. hempsworth
    Posted 14 years ago #

I've also been looking at the 'DB Cache' plugin, which I've heard is better that WP-Cache and WP Super Cache; is this true?

3. prayhumbly
    Posted 14 years ago #

WP Super Cache is better when properly configured because it allows for the PHP engine to never be loaded for cached pages. You might be able to use them together as db cache might help for admin pages that WP Super Cache doesn't do.