The MU forums have moved to WordPress.org

Can login after WPMU install, but web link only goes to WPMU install page (16 posts)

1. roberthq
    Posted 14 years ago #

Hello everyone! I'm new to MU, but have a few single WP installs.

I've installed MU in a sub directory where I have a hosted domain. My root level has a single WP install. Any way, I'm on a shared server and virtual host is off and set it up to created sub directory. I get to the install screen, enter info, get the logon, logon with success, can add blogs and posts just like you would normally. But if I try to visit the index or any thing or any blog I've created or by typing in the address in a browser or even clicking "preview site" from the control panel of WPMU I go to the same install page...no matter what I do.

see for yourself foldingsheets.com

Can't find my error log and I even checked in the main root...I found it but its reporting from my single installs. Nothing in the sub-directory or any of the sub folders of that directory.

I'm lost, can't sort out what would be doing this and I've been reading this stuff for days. Anyone else get this same problem?

Thanks for taking the time to read this
    RRG

2. tim.moore
    Posted 14 years ago #

WPMU looks up a directory for a wp-config.php file. It's possible that your WPMU installation is finding the WP wp-config.php file and thinking that it isn't correct, thus sending you to the installation page.

Is there a particular reason you are trying to install WP and WPMU on the same server? Is it possible to go to just WPMU?

3. roberthq
    Posted 14 years ago #

Well sure its possible. But I can't afford to bring down my entire site(s) that is already installed in single installs of wp.

Ok, so lets think that WPMU is thinking the config.php file is not correct? What should I do? Re-installing doesn't work as I've done this. Any ideas are a help.