The MU forums have moved to WordPress.org

Image Uploading Problem (9 posts)

1. fleetadmiralj
    Posted 14 years ago #

I think I'm having a pair of image upload problems, and I think it may be a mix of problems regarding flash and my server, setup, but I'm not sure what.

I got a test instance of Wordpress MU setup on a Windows 2008 server running Apache 2.2. Unfortunately, this is my first time setting up Apache in probably 4 years, my first time setting it up on a Windows server, and my first time setting it up for Wordpress MU, so I've been kind of winging it on the server setup, and I wonder if I did something which screwed up image uploading.

Basically, when I select a file to upload via the flash uploader, I immediately get an "IO error." The only browser this appears to not happen on is IE (I tried on IE8). Firefox on both mac and pc and safari on the mac all give me the IO error.

I've read someplace that flash may not play well with self signed certificates, so I decided to not apply the Admin SSL plugin for all of wp-admin, meaning that the image uploader isn't running under https.

Unfortunately, when trying to upload an image, it waits about a half second or so, THEN throws me the IO error...so I guess some minor progress, but obviously still a problem.

The only browser in which I don't get an error - IE8 - successfully uploads the image - I checked, it's there in the directory - but it doesn't add it to the Media Library or in the list of images in the post. It doesn't do this either when I try to upload the image via the standard Browser uploader either.

I've tried disabling all my settings for mod_security, but still no dice. My PHP file upload settings are set to allow something like 20MB files, so I'm pretty sure that's not the issue. I'm running out of ideas on what might be the problem.