The MU forums have moved to WordPress.org

Installing wordpress as cms, with wordpress mu as profile manager. (7 posts)

1. odp123
    Posted 14 years ago #

Hi everyone,

I have had lots of positive experiences with wordpress as a cms.

I have this idea of having a wordpress main site/portal presenting its own unique content. The main site will also have a news section showing recent posts and updates from the main site but also from the various profiles/blogs.

The blogs will work as profiles containing each artists portfolio, presented on the main site.

What i would like to know is, do i have to install a regular version of wordpress in the root, and then have a sub-domain with the wordpress mu installation?

Or is there a way to expand the wordpress mu frontpage to become a full working wordpress blog.

(because i see i can change the page.php to change the presentation. So what if i want the full packet?)

My directories should end up looking like this:

http://main-site.com/ a full featured wordpress installation

http://main-site.com/profiles/
    wordpress mu presentation/page.php with links to the blogs/profiles, similar to a category archive.

http://main-site.com/profiles/artist-name
    individual blog/profile

Thanks,

Johan

2. DeannaS
    Posted 14 years ago #

The main WPMU site can be a full working blog just like any of the subsites. What a lot of people do is create a special theme just for the main blog to show aggregated content from your sub-blogs. But, you don't have to. You can treat the main blog just like any other blog. There's really no reason why you'd need a top level WP site with WPMU.

If you want to do multiple blogs in a profile directory, you could use one of the multi site plugins to do a top level wpmu install and then treat the profiles sub-blog as another "top level" site.

3. odp123
    Posted 14 years ago #

Ok, so how do i use the main blog as a regular wordpress blog?