The MU forums have moved to WordPress.org

problems with setup on media temple's grid-server, with subdomains (9 posts)

1. tray
    Posted 13 years ago #

first, a disclaimer: i'm not overly tech-y. i'm a designer/front end developer, who can fumble through hacking other's code, but not much else. most of this stuff is over my head. please speak in lamen's terms.

second: i did search the forums and teh google, as well as contacted media temple's tech support, with no avail. and again, most answers seemed like jargon to me.. (see point #1)

hosting/setup details:
    WordPress MU 2.9.2 installed on (mt)'s grid service.
    on the website: http://fairwyn.com.s72729.gridserver.com

issue:
    everything seems to be working, but i don't think it was setup correctly, because anytime i try to add a new blog (example: http://development.fairwyn.com.s72729.gridserver.com ) i get nothing.

when i contacted the media temple support, they replied:

Unfortunately, I can't really troubleshoot why WordPress MU is not functioning as that falls outside of our scope of support. I can tell you that wildcard DNS record (*.domain.tld) available by default on (mt) Media Temple and that is not the issue in this case anyway.

so
    1) does anyone have an idea why when i try to add a new "blog" as a subdomain this is not working?
    2) would wordpress 3.0 beta be a better option for me to try? or am i going to run into the same thing

thanks much!

2. andrea_r
    Posted 13 years ago #

You'll run in to the same thing with 3.0, because it works the exact same way.

I can tell you that wildcard DNS record (*.domain.tld) available by default on (mt) Media Temple and that is not the issue in this case anyway.

Oh tech support, this is how the subdomain blogs work.

tray, did you go to the DNS records for your MU domain and add a wildcard subdomain record to them too?

3. tray
    Posted 13 years ago #

um.. no. how would i do that?