The MU forums have moved to WordPress.org

Blog Index with Categories? (11 posts)

1. JMF
    Posted 17 years ago #

I'm brand new to WPMU, setting up a site to host blogs for teachers at a single school. I've searched around, but haven't found anything to this effect: is it possible to some way provide a categorized index of all the blogs on my front page?

In other words, when users (students and parents) hit the main page, I'd like them to see links to blogs grouped by subject: English Department, Math Department, etc. I imagines this would involve some custom(?) category field for each blog, to make them sortable...

Since the total number of blogs will ultimately be limited, there's no reason I couldn't manually link up the blogs to the front page, but it would be so much cooler if it were automated. ;)

Anybody have any suggestions where/how to start? Or is such a thing even possible?

2. drmike
    Posted 17 years ago #

Only thing I can think of is manual. Even if it were automated, you would still have to categorize the blogs themselves.

You may want to do a search for sitewide tags here in the forums. That may work for you.

Regards,
    -drmike

3. lunabyte
    Posted 17 years ago #

MU has a function built right in to list all the blogs. Can't remember the name right off the top of my head though.

4. drmike
    Posted 17 years ago #

I used Andrew's plugin myself:

list_all_wpmu_blogs

http://www.wpmudev.org/project/list-all

I don't think that';s what teh poster is asking about though. It does come up from time to time in wp.com land. A master list of blogs sorted by categories.

5. zappoman
    Posted 17 years ago #