The MU forums have moved to WordPress.org

How do I add a recipe database (13 posts)

1. CBO
    Posted 16 years ago #

Hi, I'm new to Wordpress, and MySQL, and PHP, and all of this! I want to set up a recipe database on my blog. One that visitors can search and get results for, and have the search results (each individual recipe) be like a blog post - that they can comment on, also rate, and also be able to add their own recipes (with my approval). I'd also like to have each recipe have tags, for a cloud tag, so that they could click on a tag and list the recipes for a certain category.

My question is, how do I go about this? Are there plugins available? Should I use a separate database, or add on to the existing one? Is it a whole separate programming issue? How would I tap into adding the comments, etc? Should each recipe be a "static" post (maybe for the search engines' sake)? If so, could the recipe "section" be kept separate from the "regular" posts?

Sorry, I am really new to this. Any help, or even suggestion on how to do this would be greatly appreciated!

2. SteveAtty
    Posted 16 years ago #

you may well find that a wiki is easier for recipes.

3. andrea_r
    Posted 16 years ago #

make a recipe category and write a new post for each recipe. Or, if the whole blog is for recipies, just .,.... write a post as a recipe.

It's not that complicated.

Are you using MU or regular Worpdress?

4. CBO
    Posted 16 years ago #

I'm using regular WordPress. I thought I messed up by posting here, so I posted in the regular WordPress forums, too. Sorry for the dup.

Maybe you are right, I can just post them and categorize them. Or maybe a wiki. Both good idea.

What is MU, anyway?

5. lunabyte
    Posted 16 years ago #

MU is server level software that allows for multiple blogs to be run and administered through a single set of files.

If you're just stepping into WordPress, ignore MU.