The MU forums have moved to WordPress.org

MU in school? (22 posts)

1. PeterStephens
    Posted 16 years ago #

I'm a high school English teacher looking to encourage writing through classroom blogging. Is there a good WordPress solution? Is MU overkill? I'd like 3 group blogs, each of which would have about 20 to 30 bloggers, each with her own page that she can customize to some extent. I'd like pictures, no videos (our school system doesn't want it very wild), no way for members to invite new members, non-members may see but no way for non-members to comment. Is there a way to get 2.3 to do that without involving MU?

2. dsader
    Posted 16 years ago #

MU is perfect for what you ask. If you can do Wordpress, you can do WPMU. I have a few plugins/tweaks that make MU a vital part of the classes I teach.

I've used MU heavily for 2 years, now. It is a delight/challenge to teach secondary writers to write forms other than the 5 sentence paragraph or 5 paragraph essay. I only wish they could respond to the final Government exam via trackback from their blog, though. Sigh.

3. PeterStephens
    Posted 16 years ago #

Thanks, dsader! I love your site. High-functioning with an appealing, clean look. You know some code, though, and I'm okay at following a few directions in that line, but nothing more. I had no idea that mu could host a forum.

Any suggestions for a hosting service for mu? I'm thinking of saving myself the trouble of three installs (one per class) if I can find a host that will do it for me.

4. ekusteve
    Posted 16 years ago #

Peter,

Do you want to end up with 3 blogs and each blog have 20-30 users, or 3 groups of blogs -- 60 to 90 blogs?

If it's 3 blogs with multiple users on each of the 3 blogs, then I would suggest 3 installs of WP. Of course with this set-up, you will have multiple users posting to the same blog, so a custom look for each user will be difficult.