The MU forums have moved to WordPress.org

$wpdb->blogs.last_updated internals (5 posts)

1. Deadpan110
    Posted 15 years ago #

Hiya all,

Im very new to WordPress MU but an old hand at WordPress hacking and I am now using MU for one of my sites.

I am currently writing hacks based on other peoples plugins, namely better ways to get sitewide comments and posts (2 database queries with clever mySQL usage seems the way to go, although I don't have any users yet - just a home and a test blog).

To my question - I get a list of last_updated blogs from $wpdb->blogs (filtering out spam/mature/deleted/etc) and I am wondering on what events exactly the timestamp is updated.

I could spend some time testing out different things, but figured I would ask this forum.

I would assume that when a post is Created/Updated, then the last_updated timestamp is also updated.

Would Created/Updated Pages and Newly Accepted Comments also cause the $wpdb->blogs.last_updated timestamp to change?

Thanks in advance :)

2. andrea_r
    Posted 15 years ago #

Newly Accepted Comments causes the timestamp to change, but new pages don't.

Basically ANY activity on a particular post - a new comment, an edit, anything - cause the last_updated to update with a new timestamp.

I wanna see that query when you're done. :D

3. Deadpan110
    Posted 15 years ago #

Thanks for the reply, thats exactly what I was hoping for!

I have written a function for use in my home themes functions.php and so far, it spits out an array of all approved comments across blogs (could be easily converted into a plugin).

I was going to paste a link to a comment on wpmudev.org from where I found the original mySQL query, but it appears they have changed the site in the last 24 hours and comments no longer appear to exist (just as well I managed to make use of it before it vanished).