The MU forums have moved to WordPress.org

Handling loads (18 posts)

1. josswinn
    Posted 15 years ago #

Hello,

I've been running a WPMU installation for a few months and it's starting to see more activity recently. I'm realising that 2GB of RAM for a RedHat virtual machine isn't enough. Whenever it takes even a minor hit, the machine seizes up.

Can anyone offer some advice on a decent VM setup: suggested amount of RAM, common ways to optimise httpd, php and mysql requests, etc. I've been testing eAccelerator, which improves response time. This doesn't seem to mix well with wp-super-cache though.

Thank you
    Joss

2. andrea_r
    Posted 15 years ago #

2 gigs of RAM? How many blogs? how many hits? How much activity are we talking?

MU eats up ram, but not that much. Either the box needs tweaking or a plugin is going crazy or there's some horribly overlooked setup going on. :D

3. tdjcbe
    Posted 15 years ago #

Anything in the error logs? When you do a top from the command line, what do you see using up memory and processor? Are you using any sort of hosting control panel?

4. Klark0
    Posted 15 years ago #

Don't forget your plugins. Badly coded ones are more often than not...the problem.

5. josswinn
    Posted 15 years ago #

Well, I've fixed the problem. Some corrupted db tables were causing MySQL to use all available CPU. Yesterday, I set up eAccelerator (works great!) and also Donncha's site-wide-tags. I also tried wp-super-cache and thought there was a conflict with eAccelerator but was wrong about that. They are working well together now. The fastest the site has ever been.

Around the time it started going wrong, lots of these messages appeared.

PHP Warning: mysql_connect() [function.mysql-connect]: Lost connection to MySQL server at 'reading authorization packet', system error: 104 in /var/www/html/chat/bb-includes/backpress/class.bpdb.php on line 123

and: