The MU forums have moved to WordPress.org

Using Multi Site manager (10 posts)

1. bhargava747
    Posted 15 years ago #

Hi

I am a total newbie to wordpress mu. So, I would appreciate all the help I can get.

I installed Wordpress MU. I am storing the blogs in directories as the hosting does not support wildcard domains.

I wanted blogs in the network as blog1.com,blog2.com etc .

I am using multi site manager and used this tutorial for it.

http://www.brilliances.com/multisite-manager-with-wordpress-mu/

However I own a dedicated server with Plesk 8.3 and I do not know how to set the name server to a specific IP. All it asks while setting up a domain name is if I want to set up either

Physical hosting
    Standard forwarding
    Frame forwarding

How do I configure the domain name to get a blog in seperate domains??

2. VentureMaker
    Posted 15 years ago #

So, currently you have domain.com/blog1, domain.com/blog2 but you want them to become blog1.com, blog2.com etc?

Actually, AFAIK, multi site manager does another thing. It allows your users to choose a domain where they want their blog to be.

For example, a user can choose between domain1.com/blogname, domain2.com/blogname, etc.

3. bhargava747
    Posted 15 years ago #

yes, I got all that but how do I configure it in Plesk 8.3 in a dedicated server to point it to Site.

All I can setup is

Physical hosting
    Standard forwarding
    Frame forwarding

4. VentureMaker
    Posted 15 years ago #

What exactly do you need to setup in your Plesk?

5. bhargava747
    Posted 15 years ago #

From what I know.. to create a blog in a seperate domain you have to use Multi Site Manager.

The tutorial suggests that I have to change the name servers to point to the server where the original blog is hosted.

In case of the dedicated server with Plesk, I do not have access to change name servers. I can only host it using physical hosting or forward to a domain.