The MU forums have moved to WordPress.org

Way to limit plugins and themes available by user or user level? (21 posts)

1. rainfrog
    Posted 15 years ago #

Hello,
    I'm new to WordPress MU but not WordPress. I'm developing a site, and I'd like to be able to limit the themes available to members and the plugins available.

Ideally we would have two or three levels of membership. I'd like to be able to let the basic level have only one template option and as the levels increase, increase the number of templates available. Similar thing with plugins.

I've seen a plugin named Plugin Commander. Will this do what I'm talking about?

Would a membership plugin be either a good idea or necessary to separate people into different service levels like I'm wanting to do?

Any help or suggestions would be appreciated. I've done some reading and searching here and haven't quite found the answer to my situation.

Thank you! :)

2. VentureMaker
    Posted 15 years ago #

Hey,

The first thing you should check is http://premium.wpmudev.org/project/upgrades

Another interesting thing is http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/user-level-themes/ but I haven't yet tried it.

3. rainfrog
    Posted 15 years ago #

Thank you VentureMaker. I will check those out.

Surely what I want to do is possible (hopefully!) :)

4. Bill008
    Posted 15 years ago #

Plug in commander will allow you to mass activate/ Deactivate plugin's on a piecemeal basis so in the users admin they will have the usual plugin area of which they can also activate and deactivate not really what you want but still a must have in your WPMU Site very handy

Themes can be activated for users on a piece meal Basis so you can go in activate certain themes for certain users (the paying ones) you could also offer extra widgets in these themes it also require manual intervention