The MU forums have moved to WordPress.org

Login redirect and avatars using WPMU and SPF (3 posts)

1. dpd1998
    Posted 14 years ago #

I'm using WPMU 2.8.4 and Simple Press Forum (SPF) 4.04 Both are the current versions. I'll be upgrading each as new versions come out.

After reading a few other post on both WPMU and SPF forums I'm finding partial solutions to some issues I'm trying to change. The problem is that I'm new to coding and not sure what is the best approach or where to make changes. I can find code and replace but need to see what current code looks like and what new code needs to be replaced.

I want control of all blogs in the sub-domain from mysite.com. I will add another WPMU without SPF attached on a sub directory for open public use at a later date.

Here is what I have accomplished now:

Have people join the forum and be able to comment on blogs and forum without having to have a blog.

They must be logged in to comment on blogs or make post in forum.

All login is at the forum or branded page.

Only registration is at the Forum so I can force viewing Terms of use. All other links to registrations have been removed.

Only way to get a sub-domain blog is through a admin setting it up.

Only profile used for viewing users is the forums.

Here is what I still want to accomplish and need help or advice on. Any security issues?

1. Have forum avatar view on blogs comments. (All users register at forum and have a profile.)

2.When someone logs into mysite.com/wp-login.php or any subdomain.mysite.com/wp-ogin.php they will be directed to the dashboard only if they have Administrator, Editor, Author or contributor privileges. If all they have is subscriber privilege they are directed to the forum. (not their wp-profile like they are now.)