The MU forums have moved to WordPress.org

Installing WPMU on GoDaddy Shared Hosting (37 posts)

1. rvarum
    Posted 14 years ago #

Hi,

I'm new to wordpress in quite new to website building anyhow, and i'm sorry if this question was asked million times before, I just couldn't find the exact answer i'm looking for in the forums here.

I have a shared hosting account in Godday (deluxe hosting).
    It hosts about 10 domains (websites) like, example1.com, example2.com etc...
    It is structured like sub-directories, main domain, lets say example1.com is the root and all the others are sub-directories of the root:

\ - example1.com
    \example2.com\ - example2.com
    \example3.com\ - example3.com

I want to install WordPress Mu in order to manage all the content of my websites together from one instance of WordPress (posts, pages etc').

I'm quite confused what exactly i should do. I see instructions mostly about subdomains but i'm not using subdomains.

Please advice,
    thanks,
    Roy.

2. andrea_r
    Posted 14 years ago #

godaddy WPMU info: http://help.godaddy.com/article/5072 make sure you have the right account.

Otherwise, when you get WPMU installed, you'll need a domain mapping or multi-site plugin.

The subdomain referecne is because when you create another blog in WPMU, it is a subdomain or subfolder blog before you map the second domain to it.

http://wpmututorials.com/plugins/donnchas-domain-mapping-plugin/

3. rvarum
    Posted 14 years ago #

hi andrea,

Thanks for the replay.

i followed the instructions fully on http://help.godaddy.com/article/5072
    but still couldn't make a single wordpress mu installation manage all my websites together.

like i said before, i use the "domain aliasing" feature of godaddy, to host multiple websites - as subfolders of my primary domain.