The MU forums have moved to WordPress.org

Need to edit my theme need a little help !! (6 posts)

1. aniqueakhtar
    Posted 14 years ago #

Hi..

i am new to wordpress and don't know anything about it... I need to know how to do few things in wordpress...

Using wordpress MU i have created five blogs... i would be installing them on one domain... so there are actually four blogs and one is just a home page... containing links and screen shots to all the four other blogs...

I have created and started all the other four blogs which are the sub domains of the home page which is my fifth blog... What i need to do is to edit my home blog template...

i have installed the simplX theme :
    http://wordpress.org/extend/themes/simplex

and i have removed the sidebar... what i need to do here is to remove all the posts.. since this is my dashboard blog so i don't want anyone posting here... i just want them to post in my other blogs.. I want this theme to be plane and just show four screenshots and a little description about all the other four blogs.. which are in the subdomains..

any idea how i can do that..

Thanks

2. andrea_r
    Posted 14 years ago #

make a file called home.php. Stick in in that theme's folder, and put whatever you want in that file.

3. STDestiny
    Posted 14 years ago #

In the theme you're using for the main blog (assuming it's not the same theme as the other four, otherwise, you'll need to create a duplicate copy of the theme), make a copy of index.php and rename it home.php. Erase everything from

<?php if ( have_posts() ) : while ( have_posts() ) : the_post(); ?>

to

<?php endif; ?>

and insert whatever content you want.

4. andrea_r
    Posted 14 years ago #

Wow, we posted one second apart. :D

5. aniqueakhtar
    Posted 14 years ago #

Thanks for replying..
    okay... i have removed everything...

now i need to know how to add names, screen shots and description of all the other blogs in a page.. using php ..