The MU forums have moved to WordPress.org

Simple 'how-to' required on mega scaling WordPressMu (more than 3200 blogs!) (14 posts)

1. ninjaboy
    Posted 14 years ago #

I was wondering if there was a simple (complete!) guide somewhere lurking on the net on how to scale a WordPress Mu site above the theoretical limit of 32000 blogs created? I understand that the main issue is the nestled uploads directories for each individual blog (yes, each will need uploads).

We are expecting to have many, many more than this after only a few months of site go-live and I want to put the scalability in-place from day 1 so I don't have to reverse engineer anything in the future.

The site I am working on is initially going to run off 2 dedicated servers - server 1 was going to be used to run the Mu site, server 2 is being used for some extra 'non-WP' functionality for the site, but could be used for file storage and to scale some of the Mu site across to).

I have been using WP for over 4 years, but this is my first proper Mu project. Although I have been checking out various pages on the net about this there doesn't seem to be any clear, definitive up-to-date answers for this. More a bunch of gems of knowledge spread around various sources.

If I can't find a solution I may have to go to the darkside (another platform) which is something I REALLY don't want to do as I love WP so much!!

Please - I could really do with some solid advice on this!

2. ninjaboy
    Posted 14 years ago #

I have had a look round on this subject and was hoping to find a good guide on this, but am gathering information slowly but surely.

Am I right in thinking Hyper DB will only deal with the database scaling - which leads me back to being a bit puzzled on a clear answer about how to get around this 32,000 limit for file directories (well, preferably distributing the uploads and individual blogs between servers from the start really).

Any advice really would be appreciated!

3. Farms