The MU forums have moved to WordPress.org

LDAP Group Support (10 posts)

1. AaronNew
    Posted 14 years ago #

I first want to thank everyone for the wonderful work Wordpress MU and the pluggins. I have the site up and running for my school system with a few plugins (with a few more to add in the future). I am using the LDAP-Authentication (http://wpmuldap.frozenpc.net) plugin and it is working beautifully. I would like to add AD group restrictions as several others have done. I have contacted the developer, and he does not have a planned release date for this feature. I want to add basic group functionality. I know DeanaS and kgraeme have done this, and probably others. Would anyone like to share thier code with me to add this functionality? I would need some help integrating it into the existing plugin as I am VERY new to php. I am familiar with html and asp/asp.net (I hope that isn't a dirty word around here).

Thank you in advance.

2. DeannaS
    Posted 14 years ago #

Email me Aaron. It's deanna dot schneider at gmail dot com. My files just replace the existing ones - no code knowledge needed. Our version does not allow you to assign groups to roles. It only lets you authenticate against a security group instead of authenticating against an OU.

3. kahless
    Posted 14 years ago #

Deanna,

How hard would it be to do groups to roles?

Here is what I am imagining. We have our courses in LDAP which are being used for LDAP course creation and sync in Moodle. With that we are able to assign the role of instructor, TA, and student. I can see faculty wanting a course blog which would assign the professor to Admin, TA to Editor, and students to Contributors. I'm just not sure how in the world that would work. A look at the way Moodle handles creating course from LDAP might give some clues as to how to allow WordPress to create blogs against LDAP groups.

4. DeannaS
    Posted 14 years ago #