The MU forums have moved to WordPress.org

transfer WPmu blogs from subdir to subdomain in new host (4 posts)

1. greenrambutan
    Posted 14 years ago #

This is not the typical subdir to subdomain question, though all my searches ultimately lead to that.

First, I am total novice at this and learning through lots of stupid mistakes, so please excuse if I ask stupid questions or asking repeat stuff simply because I know not enough to phrase questions correctly.

My problem:

When installing WPmu, the recommended setting is: subdomain. For that, I read that I need to access the dns records to create wildcard dns (I cannot access that). Alternatively, I read that with x3 cpanel, all I need to do is create a *.mydomain.com subdomain (did not work - get to this later).

Given that my host may not support tampering with dns records, I might be left considering using the un-recommended alternative, which is subdirectory. Now, my question is: if I set up a WPmu using subdirectory, then, when my current hosting expires and I move to another host that allows dns-tinkering (therefore subdomain possible), can I easily port *current* subdirectory blogs on host-x over to *future* subdomain blogs on host-y? Has anyone done it before?

I know the alternative is to change host now, but sadly I have signed up for 3 years (cheaper) so I am stuck here for a while yet.

Any advice would be welcomed.

Another issue I ran into was that for some strange reason, I can no longer access site admin even when I login as site admin - with my privileges set to subsriber after I created two or three test users. Is there another way round it? so far what I did was delete and clean reinstall with new db - which is OK while still testing, but after that?

Thanks again

2. webhostuk
    Posted 14 years ago #

You can surely install WP on main directory its not necessary you do it on subdomain.