The MU forums have moved to WordPress.org

1. highmarkwp
    Posted 14 years ago #

I have a wp-site that I transferred over to a new host and a new wp account.

Something went wrong because when I try "Log in" to admin on the site on the new location, it redirects to the login window for the old location. But not only that... if I hit "Log In' on the old location, it redirects to the login window for the new location.

In short:
    - Login at new.com redirects to old.com/wp-login.php and no user/pw works.
    - Login at old.com redirects to new.com/wp-login.php and no user/pw works.

And of course, neither login windows accepts any of my login information, new or old. And reset password doesn't work either as it goes into a loop with just sending new reset email over and over.

I have all files downloaded and can ftp. files but what file handles this and what do I need to do remove the redirect? As you can see, I'm not good at this so be specific as I'm both blonde and female... ;-)

2. andrea_r
    Posted 14 years ago #

Blond females can be smart too. :)

So to recap - you moved webhosts *and* changed the domain name?

If so, you'll have to look in wp-config.php and find where is say old.com. Change it to new.com.

Then go into phpmyadmin. Do a search (big tab up on the right) for old.com and change every one you find to new.com.

3. highmarkwp
    Posted 14 years ago #

Hi Andrea, thanks for looking at this. I'm completely lost!

We've made some progress since last night when I posted this.

The admin of new.com figured out what I did – I had changed the url in "Settings" to old.com to "help" the new.com find my database (which didn't help).

However, my guess is that my site – old.com – has the url set in "Settings" to new.com and that's why I can't log in and instead get redirected to new.com. And, since I can't log in to old.com, I can't change it to the correct url...