The MU forums have moved to WordPress.org

Users and the Blog ID help needed (7 posts)

1. jahue
    Posted 14 years ago #

Ok this is my first time posting here. Forgive me if this is posted but i cannot find a answer to my question.

We are using WPMU for our college faculty pages.
    Everything is running fine minus two problems.

The first problem is that file are being stored by user id. This is fine on the front end but when we get the 200+ faculty online this becomes difficult to navigate. I understand as the admin I can look at all the id's it becomes a problem and a nuisance over time.

We would prefer they blogs upload folder be by user name.
    blogs.dir/users/admin etc rather than blogs.dir/users/1

We are currently using a widget that fixes this but it is really time-consuming while setting up blogs.

This is also tied to another problem with the media library upload path. It seems to create its own folder in the blogs.dir/users/(2010) rather than using the proper user folder. which would be blogs.dir/users/admin or blogs.dir/users/1

can some one please help?

2. andrea_r
    Posted 14 years ago #

I see a couple issues here.

First, the userID and where the images are uploaded is usually a moot point as the user themeselves never needs to know this.

UNLESS you are using a theme that has timthumb or custom fields for thumbnails.

OR

the htaccess rewrite rules aren't working properly.

. It seems to create its own folder in the blogs.dir/users/(2010) rather than using the proper user folder.

And this is definitely not correct. There's most likely a plugin interfering with this.

3. jahue
    Posted 14 years ago #

We are running a plugin that is conflicting but the conflict is due to the inability to associate the user folders with the user name rather than the user id.