The MU forums have moved to WordPress.org

1 2 3

Editing and creating top level navigation menus (66 posts)

1. dizzy99
    Posted 17 years ago #

Well i have MU Wordpress up and running and have added a few hacks, plugins etc and I must say i'm very very pleased with it and its functioning well and far better than i expected.

One thing i have need of is control of top navigation menus and this is likely down to my severe lack of knowledge of Wordpress than Wordpress MU (i'm new to both systems).

The theme I'm using uses some tabs at the top, created from top level pages. I think the routine is defined in wp_list_pages and that's fine and works as it should. New pages get a new tab and away we go.

However some pages i want to define shouldn't get a new tab and it would really be handy to add extra menu tabs for say a category etc. How can this be done through the wordpress admin interface ? Is there a plugin for such things or an option I'm simply missing ?

At the moment if i create say a Terms Of Use page it will display a Terms of Use tab which isn't required. I think i and very likely my members will require greater flexibility on what does and doesn't become a menu item.

Anyone any advice on how they deal with this or what plugin, if they use one, is available to allow myself and my members greater flexibility over our menus ?

Any help appreciated.

2. andrea_r
    Posted 17 years ago #

3. dizzy99
    Posted 17 years ago #

Sorry i think you misunderstand me here, i don't want my users, or myself, to customise the admin menu panels but the top level page menu items within their themes.