The MU forums have moved to WordPress.org

Is WPMU right for me? (12 posts)

1. LynneLiL
    Posted 17 years ago #

Hi...I'm a long time WP (1.5) user and I'm looking to go to the next level of blogging: namely, to have a community blog somewhat modeled on Scoop-based or Soapblox-like systems, with user posts, ratings systems, front-page promotion to a submitted user post, and a few dedicated, invited "front page writers" like myself (I currently have two co-bloggers and may add another as well). I've been researching what software to upgrade to, played with Drupal a bit, but keep coming back to the functionality, ease, and flexibility of WP. I am a more-than-beginning website developer, but still somewhat a newbie. I've tweaked my own blog (leftinlowell.com) in a few ways, I can mess with templates (I'm a CSS wiz), and understand the templating system a bit.

I've been perusing this forum and searching bits and pieces I wanted to know about MU and WP 2.x for a week or two but I need specific answers to what I need all in one place. I see that others have done "requirements lists" and they get nice detailed responses, and that you have some very patient and knowledgeable people here. I apologize in advance if any of these questions have been asked elsewhere, or are really long-winded. So here goes...

1. The fundimental difference I see between Scoop-like blogs and WP2/MU1 (OOTB) is emphasis. In sites like dailykos.com, the emphasis is on the front page (those with front-page writing privledges or those whose posts get promoted), with sidebar short lists of recent user diaries and recommended diaries. With WPMU, it's that each user gets a blog, quite seperate from one another. In the case of an entity which just wants to offer free blogs to a community that's great. I want more of the former. This means a couple things...