The MU forums have moved to WordPress.org

This is ridiculous (10 posts)

1. brockangelo
    Posted 16 years ago #

I came here from this heated post on the codex. I am not a system administrator - everything that I know has been self-taught after using my host's 1-click install of the original WP and then pouring through the codex.

Of course, non-system admins are interested in MU now because the description of MU makes it sound like "heck, its just a wrapper around what you know already". I'm trying to install it locally and I'm finding that is not the case.

Again, I'm not a sys-admin, but I do feel like I know quite a bit about running WP. Most of the people who are even on this forum know quite a bit about wordpress. The challenge with MU and the reason why there are so many heated debates is that there is no 1-click install with this. And I understand why there can't be.

I would like to see a bigger push for local installs so that people can get a feel for what's going on before hitting up the MUcodex with questions, only to get flamed. I'm trying to do a local install myself before messing with users and pissing off the codex.

So, that is a long tangent. Here's why I'm here: I think it would be valuable to new users and qualified sys-admins for someone to establish a definitive step-by-step guide to installing the MU locally. I'd also like to see this encouraged on the WPMU front page so that people don't jump in unknowingly - the MU forums are a much nastier place than the original codex forums.

Yes, I know a step by step tutorial would be time consuming and would depend on the system being used. But a Win XP and an Ubuntu version are going to cover about 80% of the users. I like what andrea_r is doing with wpmututorials.com