The MU forums have moved to WordPress.org

Sub-domain blogs not loading. (16 posts)

1. sweetbajan
    Posted 16 years ago #

Hi I am very new to this. I searched but I am seeing a lot of solutions and I do not know which one would be for me. My site is http://www.thebeyoncefix.com and I am created a test blog to see if the wpmu I downloaded would work.

Here is a sub-domain blog I created and everything went fine but when I go to view it doesnt load.

http://damn.thebeyoncefix.com/wpmu/

2. lunabyte
    Posted 16 years ago #

Check:

a) Wildcard DNS A record has been entered, and has propagated
    b) Apache's configuration file was properly edited to add a wildcard ServerAlias

3. sweetbajan
    Posted 16 years ago #

Ok how am I supposed to check these things? I have never heard of these things before lol.

4. lunabyte
    Posted 16 years ago #

Please read the readme.txt file that came with MU.

Read it carefully, and pay close attention.

5. sweetbajan
    Posted 16 years ago #

Ok where I bought the domain.. i made an A Record - the source is *.thebeyoncefix.com and the destination is my sites I.P Address. Did I do that right? And I did read the "README" document but for people who are not familiar with all of these terms it is hard. But for some of you it would be easy because you know what you are talking about. So I am just asking for you to bare with me. The next step (apache) would my host have to do that?

6. amasso
    Posted 16 years ago #

Yup, if you don't have root access to your server.

7. lunabyte
    Posted 16 years ago #

* Mod's, please remove the "signature" above. *

As for apache, that's part of the game. The very first part of the readme mentions about "if you're not comfortable...".

It really is true, but is the most overlooked part of the readme, followed by the rest of it. Not to discourage you, but MU is an advanced server platform, and to support it really does call for a good foundation with PHP, MySQL, and of course Apache.