The MU forums have moved to WordPress.org

Backing up and MU (12 posts)

1. Konstan
    Posted 16 years ago #

So, how do you do it? I am still learning how to handle this whole thing, and my main concern is backing up.

My db is at over 350mb, which takes over an hour with mysqldump...how can I speed it up? How do you have set it up?

2. hhuskies
    Posted 16 years ago #

Also, should we be backing up the database weekly, PLUS backing up the blogs.dir directory? Isn't this where everyone's photos are stored?

Adding onto Konstan's post, I would like to also know how often you backup the required files and/or databases? Once a month? Once a week?

Also, do you tell your members they should backup their blogging posts as well? Like save a copy of their posts through Word of something? I just want to make sure I am doing ALL that I can to safeguard the blogs. I don't want all of their sites and blogs getting lost.

That would be a great way to have instant enemies...LOL

3. Konstan
    Posted 16 years ago #

I do weekly backups, usually late at night when my traffic is at its lowest point. I stop apache, run mysqlcheck and then backup. Once its done apache is started again.

I know there must be a better way :P

Edit: I backup blogs.dir monthly, since that is not going anywhere.

4. hhuskies
    Posted 16 years ago #

I try and do backups a couple times a month at this point. I should do it more often though. I need to get into a habit of doing it once per week. From what I have read here though, I should probably even be doing it MORE than once a week.

Is there another way for the USERS to back up as well?

And I just found some more information, and yes, I should be backing up the content directory. : ) Because of the plugins, and uploaded files from users. So now I understand that aspect of MU. : )

5. andrea_r
    Posted 16 years ago #