The MU forums have moved to WordPress.org

Best way to Backup Sites? (12 posts)

1. Kurt8
    Posted 16 years ago #

Hello,

On my standard WP sites I use a plugin called backup manager to perform backups. I'm relatively new to MU and was wondering how most people back up their sites? Best for me would be a single backup which would cover the main MU install and all of the associated blogs. Or would be better to back up the blogs individually (I only have a total of 5). Any thoughts or suggestions?

2. andrea_r
    Posted 16 years ago #

Back up the database in phpmyadmin, or do a mysql dump command-line.
    Then, if you really want to snag the files too, everything in the blogs.dir directory, or possibly everything under wp-content.

3. moorezilla
    Posted 16 years ago #

For your mysql backups, you might want something like this: http://sourceforge.net/projects/automysqlbackup/

For your files, you can just put something like this together and set a crontab:

#!/bin/sh
    tar -czf /home/backups/$(date +%Y%m%d)web-backup.tgz /home/web

where the paths are changed to suit your situation.

4. Kurt8
    Posted 16 years ago #

Thanks for the responses. That sounds more complex than what I have been doing in WP 2.3. Is there not not some sort of plugin which would capture the database and all important files in one shot?

Also, how hard would it be to restore the database in the event of a crash (using the above phpmyadmin method)?

Kurt

5. andrea_r
    Posted 16 years ago #

No, there's no mu-specific plugin that i know of. I do recall someone saying the regular WP one works in MU though. could always try it.

Restoring the db thru phpmyadmin is just as easy as exporting.

The only thing to remember is with five blogs, you get a db that is 5x the size of a stand-alone WP install. So at some point, phpmyadmin will crap out because it has a 16mb limit (or so) in there for imports & exports, although you can do it in batches when it gets that big.

6. Kurt8