The MU forums have moved to WordPress.org

Design help: Political Bear Blogs (12 posts)

1. politicalbear
    Posted 16 years ago #

Ok, I have installed wpmu, rebuilt my site around it, updated my sites look http://politicalbear.com, and pestered a few of you.

However, I have decided that although my mother tells me its looks good ( :) isn't she great) that I need design critiques.

Color is my big one. Originally, my site was deemed to look old (I had a lot of chrome and flashing and cheap animation) I took that out, simplified, and at least I like the results. My goal was yahoo.com (I like to subtle color) meets a wp- magazine style themes (thanks Andrea_r). And I am a website newbie, so it has been touch and go at times.

Questions:

What do you like/dislike/hate? (hate is probably the most important-not everyone will like it, but hopefully a large percentage will not hate it)

*Suggestions of how to change* ?

Would you blog on Political Bear if you stumbled on it?

2. MrBrian
    Posted 16 years ago #

The text is "scratchy" and the color scheme is.. well there isn't one. To be honest, it's pretty ugly. It also doesn't look good on my huge resolution either :(.

3. politicalbear
    Posted 16 years ago #

I like honesty.

Don't know how to solve those issues, but I will definitely note them, and try to make them better as I move forward.

4. lunabyte
    Posted 16 years ago #

Also, there really isn't a clear definition of content within the layout. It looks like it was just thrown up there and placed wherever.

Honestly, find a theme out there that has a nice layout, and then modify the heck out of it to fit what you want.

Also, as a note, the home page has 77 validation errors as well.

5. politicalbear
    Posted 16 years ago #

Now those I can look into.

I have been fighting the theme thing, but the more I fight it the more I understand.

77....eww.

Thanks lunabyte.

6. demonicume
    Posted 16 years ago #