The MU forums have moved to WordPress.org

Customizing WP-Autoblog Output (4 posts)

1. bwinn
    Posted 15 years ago #

The WP Autoblog plugin is great. It allows you add multiple feeds from external sites or blogs which act as normal posts. The problem I am having with this plugin is that I want the post title to link to the actual blog post from the feed, as opposed to keeping it on my blog and going to the single.php page.

For example I have multiple feeds that are syndicated on my homepage using autoblog, but I have blog 1 which is on my list of feeds that autoblog uses. Instead of the blog going to blog 1 or http://blog1.mysite.com/post it stays on my blog and goes to http://mysite.com/post.

Here is the code from the plugin that I need to modify but I am not a php expert: (I can usually modify things here and there but this ones is beyond me)

// Title
    			$post['post_title'] = strip_tags(trim($item['title']));

// Categories
    			$post['post_category'] = array();
    			if(isset($item['category#'])){
    				for ($i = 1; $i <= $item['category#']; $i++){
    					$cat_idx = (($i > 1) ? "#{$i}" : "");
    					$cat = $item["category{$cat_idx}"];
    					$post['post_category'][] = $cat;
    				}
    			} else if($item['dc']['subject'] != ""){
    				$post['post_category'][] = $item['dc']['subject'];
    			}

for($i = 0; $i < count($post['post_category']); $i++){
    				$post['post_category'][$i] = $wpdb->escape($post['post_category']);
    				$post['post_category'][$i] = lookup_cat(strip_tags(trim($post['post_category'][$i])));
    			}

// Post date
    			$date = "";
    			if($item['published'] != "") $date = auto_blog_parse_w3cdtf($item['published']); // Atom 1.0
    			else if($item['issued'] != "") $date = auto_blog_parse_w3cdtf($item['issued']);	// Atom 0.3
    			else if($item['dcterms']['issued'] != "") $date = auto_blog_parse_w3cdtf($item['dcterms']['issued']);