The MU forums have moved to WordPress.org

Does bbPress or any other forum/board ware work with wpmu? (19 posts)

1. HiMY
    Posted 18 years ago #

What if any forum software / plug-in works with wpmu?

Thanks.

2. andrewbillits
    Posted 18 years ago #

bbpress works very well with wpmu. If you open up bbpress's config file you'll see a few options that will allow you to tag a bbpress install onto your alreadu existing users table within wpmu.

:)

3. HiMY
    Posted 18 years ago #

Thanks Andrew,

I've now tried xdforum and can't get it to work with wpmu, keep getting database errors.

And after an hour or so, I can't figure out bbpress either.

Yeah Yeah, I am a wpmu newbie here and know just enough to get into trouble.

What directory do I upload the bbpress files into? I haven't been able to google or search it up anywhere...

http://www.example.org/bbpress/bb-admin

or

http://www.example.org/wp-inst/bbpress/bb-admin

or

http://www.example/wp-inst/wp-content or .../wp-plugins

and in the bb-config file,

// Change the prefix if you want to have multiple forums in a single database.
    $bb_table_prefix = 'bb_';

do I change the 'bb_' to 'wp_' ?

I left the 'wp_' as is when I originally installed wpmu.

I know I know these are such a simple questions.

Thank again in advance.

4. andrewbillits
    Posted 18 years ago #

Most people just put the bbpress files in a directory called "forums" or "support".

As for the prefix, I don't think it matters as long as you set the option to share a user table correctly
    :)

5. NickR
    Posted 18 years ago #

What does sharing a database between bbpress and wpmu do? I have bbpress as my support forums, but it's database is not shared with the wpmu database...

6. andrewbillits
    Posted 18 years ago #

it's actually just the user table that's shared. It allows bbpress to pull off of wpmu's user data so that people don't have to create and maintain a seperate account for bbpress.

7. NickR
    Posted 18 years ago #