The MU forums have moved to WordPress.org

Domain mapping on (mt)Media Temple's (gs)Grid Share (13 posts)

1. mars-hill
    Posted 15 years ago #

Hi, I'm a WPMU newbie.

Running WPMU 2.6RC1 on (mt)Media Temple's (gs)Grid Share. Everything's been quite smooth so far. I'm running into problems mapping a second domain however.

I'm using the site manager plugin and have used that to add chrishargreaves.co.nz to the list. I've had a look at the database and it seems to have worked well.

The domain name is with domainz.co.nz and the nameserver and IP addresses are pointed at media temple (taken from the KB article). However chrishargreaves.co.nz isn't resolving into anything: I'm just getting a server not found error page. The DNS changes were made long enough ago to ensure they should have propagated.

Are there any other steps I need to take to trouble-shoot or get this working?

Do I need to...
    * Add chrishargreaves.co.nz to my alternate domains listing on (mt)?
    * Change the htaccess file anywhere?
    * Create a chrishargreaves.co.nz directory (seems counter-intuitive)

Domain mapping is one of my primary reasons for switching to MU: I sure hope someone can help me out.

2. demonicume
    Posted 15 years ago #

make sure your blog_id and site_id are correct. double check your DB settings. this worked for me:
    http://bui4ever.com/web-itecture/wordpress_mu_with_domain_mapping

3. Trent
    Posted 15 years ago #

Make sure you add the domain as an addon domain in Media Temple DNS tool through your control panel. Don't create the domain with it's own folder as you want it to point at the main WPMU folder. If you create it on it's own, it will have a virtual host created for it and that will not work.

Trent

4. mars-hill
    Posted 15 years ago #

demonicume, trent: thanks.

I have double checked the DB; looks fine to me. I have added the domain as an add-on in Media Temple and haven't changed the default DNS register.