The MU forums have moved to WordPress.org

Replace PHOTO on template (8 posts)

1. javothom
    Posted 15 years ago #

Creating blog and used TerraFirma 3.3.1 template.

Template has pic of little girl -- want to replace it with my pic.

Contacted template designer (Sadish) and he told me that because Wordpress templates don't link back to him, he cannot provide me with instruction.

Please instruct me how to replace photo of little girl with my own photo.

Please use a "step-by-step" instruction for me -- I am a newbie. For example, I know that the template photo is named "profile.jpg" and I assume that I need to replace it by naming my own photo "profile.jpg" and then somehow upload this photo into a master directory.

Thanks in advance for your help.

2. sgrunt
    Posted 15 years ago #

you are in right. find the profile.jpg, edit it in a graphic software (photoshop for example) and save. That's all you should do.
    If you do not have a graphic software, just take your photo, resize it to the same dimension of profile.jpg and overwrite profile.jpg with your new file

3. andrea_r
    Posted 15 years ago #

And put that in the theme folder.

4. javothom
    Posted 15 years ago #

Thank you both. I found the directory and the Terrfirma "Themes" folder, but when I drag&drop my "profile.jpg" into that folder, nothing happens.

Am I missing something? How do I upload this picture into the directory? Is there an FTP process? Drag&drop isn't doing it. If I right click on the original photo, it does not offer me the option of "replace".

5. sgrunt
    Posted 15 years ago #

you are testing your site locally on your pc or remotely?
    if the website is on a server and not on your pc you will transfer file using ftp, if the website is on your pc for a local testing you can drag and drop the image

6. javothom
    Posted 15 years ago #