The MU forums have moved to WordPress.org

WordpressMU in a School (5 posts)

1. listerofsmeg
    Posted 14 years ago #

Hi,

I'm new to wordpress MU however I have used wordpress for many years.

I'm wanting to create a wordpress mu site at the college I work at for students to use. This will save money on internet fees as instead of using a external site such as wikispaces. For what the students are using it for, Wordpress will do fine.

One problem i am having is getting sites to work when just typing in the address of the server. I haven't set it up proper yet, but i need it know if its able to be done.

IE: if i type in "http://mcc-wp1/test/" will i be able to access the site that is setup there. Not only that, but there will be a external address for parents and students to access their sites from home eg: blogs.school.vic.edu.au.

I tried with uniform server on my local box however, just got page dose not exist errors. I'm taking at to do the /test/ thingy i uses .htaccess or something like that.

My last question is, is it worth setting up on a linux box or on a windows box? Will this help me in the long run?

The college is made up of MACs and PC with a Windows Backend (mixture of 2003 and 2008 severs) and CISCO switching and wireless networking.

If i dont make sense, tell me and i will try to be clear.

Thanks guys

-Pete

2. andrea_r
    Posted 14 years ago #

If you set it up on a Linux box, yes it will make your life easier.

Also, it needs a hostname like something.something. Usign http://mcc-wp1 will likely give strange issues.

The URL to the subfodler blogs, and the permalinks use mod_rewrite. That has to be enabled for them to work.

3. Farms
    Posted 14 years ago #

Can I be a little cynical here and suggest that you'll save yourself all of a handful of $s a month (if that).

Now... how much do you value your time? How much will it cost to power the server locally? etc.