The MU forums have moved to WordPress.org

Server is overloaded or there was an error in a CGI script (6 posts)

1. emaya77
    Posted 14 years ago #

Hi All,

I succesfully installed wordpress-mu in my machine.After that when i clikced on login button, I'm getting this error:

"Server error!

The server encountered an internal error and was unable to complete your request. Either the server is overloaded or there was an error in a CGI script.

If you think this is a server error, please contact the webmaster. "

I am NEW to this, so any detailed help would be so appreciated!!
    Thanks!
    ;o)

2. emaya77
    Posted 14 years ago #

Btw...when on the previous page (the page where you install wordpress
    mu), this warning is listed in the instructions:

"Warning! It looks like mod_rewrite is not installed.

If the mod_rewrite module is disabled ask your administrator to enable that module, or look at the Apache documentation or elsewhere for help setting it up."

Also, should i leave the database host as: localhost? Or should it be "localhost.localdomain" which is what is in the field by default for the Server Address.

And for the database, I've aned it 'wpmu', the username is "root", and I've left the pw field blank.

3. SteveAtty
    Posted 14 years ago #

You'll need to turn mod_rewrite on in your apache config for WPMU to work properly.

leave the db host as localhost.

DONT use root/{null} as your logon credentials, create a specific user which only has the required rights on the wpmu database.

4. emaya77
    Posted 14 years ago #

Thanks, SteveAtty!
    I apologize for being so clueless here...but:

Is there a certain place in the apache config file that I should add "RewriteEngine On"? And do I need "#" or anything before it?

As far as the login credentials, should I just make up ANY UN and PW? Do I then need to add this info anywhere else?

Thanks again!

5. SteveAtty
    Posted 14 years ago #