The MU forums have moved to WordPress.org

how to show random post from user blog on my wordpress MU (11 posts)

1. nirnimesz
    Posted 14 years ago #

hi. i just installed my first wordpress mu. so,im new here. im not a hard coder also. so im asking some help from you guys.

** i want to show latest blog entry from my users blog on my home page. it could be in a slider or as main content of my home page. I am using a thesis theme.

Thx anyway.oh, i forgot im trying to make my wpmu in my lanuage - Bangla.

2. nirnimesz
    Posted 14 years ago #

anybody can help me abt this issue?

3. DeannaS
    Posted 14 years ago #

If you want it from the same blog all the time, you could do a switch_to_blog() call and then grab the most recent post. I'm not aware of a plugin that does this already, though.

4. tdjcbe
    Posted 14 years ago #

You ask for two different things. Do you want to show a random post from a random blog or the latest post from the entire site?

Both are actually very doable. Are you using anything currently to compile all of the posts together? Like a site wide plugin?

5. rsgrone
    Posted 14 years ago #

I would be very interested in this answer however, my question is quite a bit simpler...

When a new user signs in and creates their own blog, will they create their own rss feed in the nature of (this was my choosing during install) foo.com/blog/username (rss) or are the contents of the feeds all "mashed" together from the users blogs?

Now, the way I am placing either stack feeds and/or scrolling feeds from both rss and .xml sites is via ajaxloadfile with the direct link from the feed and another combination using simplepie, jquery, and jscroller on to my sites main html pages with permalinks back to the blog...

I suppose I could create a fake user and find out but, I thought I would ask the experts here first.... thanks

6. rsgrone
    Posted 14 years ago #