The MU forums have moved to WordPress.org

Sample Terms of Use for a blog host? (15 posts)

1. mickemus
    Posted 17 years ago #

Frens in the blog hosting field.. Is there an 'open source' Terms of Use around that I can use for my blog hosting site? I'm not a lawyer so anything someone has they'd like to share would be great Of course, I know I can just surf around and steal something but that wouldn't be the in WP spirit then, would it??

2. kahless
    Posted 17 years ago #

Check http://blogs.wooster.edu/terms-of-use/ and http://blogs.law.harvard.edu/home/terms-of-use We got permission from Harvard to use a modified version of their TOS for Wooster. I figured its Harvard Law so they must know what they are doing and their TOS is under CC.

3. drmike
    Posted 17 years ago #

Another example is Wp.com's. Their's is CC'ed as well.

4. mickemus
    Posted 17 years ago #

coffee.... where's my coffee...

Thanks a million... "issue" solved!

5. suleiman
    Posted 17 years ago #

is there a way to require the terms of use be agreed to upon signup?

6. Misera
    Posted 17 years ago #

Edit the wp-signup.php file to say that by registering/creating a blog they agree to the ToS? and then provide a link to it so they can read it if they want?

Like in:
    < ?php printf(__("< p>Welcome back, %s. By filling out the form below, you can < strong>add another blog to your account< /strong>. There is no limit to the number of blogs you can have, so create to your heart's content, but blog responsibly.< /p>"), $current_user->display_name) ?>
    < ?php _e('Here are the blogs you already have:') ?>< /p>

Add to that..

Or in:
    < p>Fill out this one-step form and you'll be blogging seconds later!< /p>
    Add to that..

Easiest way without checkboxes/much extra code

7. drmike
    Posted 17 years ago #

Fake the box. Just throw one on there and don't do anything with it. :whistle:

8. Misera
    Posted 17 years ago #

LOL that works too...

9. Crimsontech