The MU forums have moved to WordPress.org

Subdomain not being created (9 posts)

1. kcgleaton
    Posted 14 years ago #

I know I am overlooking something simple, but after days of reading doc's & forums I have not found the solution...

I have an installation of wordpress MU (ver 2.9.2) on the domain ushousesavers.com. It works fine for the host domain, which is on the root folder, httpdocs, but not for the additional blog sites.

When I try to create an additional blog sites (which are named blog1.ushousesavers.com, blog2.ushousesavers.com, etc.) while logged in as an administrator, I get the following error: "The site you are trying to view does not currently have a default page. It may be in the process of being upgraded and configured"

When I check in the plesk control panel, the blog1, blog2, etc. accounts, which SHOULD be in the subdomains folder are no where to be found.

Could it be that I should have done something differently during setup?

Is there a special setting to allow (or TELL) wordpress MU to create subdomains in a particular place that I have missed?

Is there a global path setting somewhere in wordpress mu that will create these new blogs in my subdomain folder?

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

2. SteveAtty
    Posted 14 years ago #

You need to enable wildcards in your DNS record and in your apache config - which is in the documented steps of what you have to do.

All WPMU blogs are totally virtual (apart from their upload directory which is created under the blogs.dir directory) so you wont ever see anything being created on the server.

3. tdjcbe
    Posted 14 years ago #

You need to enable wildcards in your DNS record and in your apache config - which is in the documented steps of what you have to do.

Just to clarify, that's the readme file included with the download.

4. andrea_r
    Posted 14 years ago #