The MU forums have moved to WordPress.org

blogs.dir and subdirectory (7 posts)

1. leahs2
    Posted 13 years ago #

Hello - I have a few questions on WPMU.

1. is the "blogs.dir directory" that is supposed to be created under wp-content - a folder?

2. I am using a subdirectory. The wordpress files are currently under mysite.com/wordpress. With MU enabled, is it possible to keep the wordpress files stored there and change the address to mysite.com?

3. I created a new blog subdirectory as mysite.com/wordpress/test and it says the link is broken. Any suggestions?

Thanks! Sorry these are probably silly questions, I'm new to this!

2. leahs2
    Posted 13 years ago #

This is all for trying to make the multiple site option work for WP 3.0...

3. tdjcbe
    Posted 13 years ago #

1) No, you have to create the subdirectory. Make sure you check the ownership of the directory so that it is accessible by the webserver. (Get with your webhost if you need help with that.)

In case you haven't read it:

http://codex.wordpress.org/Create_A_Network

2) No, WPMu (for lack of a better term) has to be within root. You can not give it it;s own subdirectory. See the link up above.

3) That's why you can't install it within a subdirectory.

4. andrea_r
    Posted 13 years ago #

1. is the "blogs.dir directory" that is supposed to be created under wp-content - a folder?

Yes. Directory = folder.

2. I am using a subdirectory. The wordpress files are currently under mysite.com/wordpress. With MU enabled, is it possible to keep the wordpress files stored there and change the address to mysite.com?

No. You will have the /wordpress/ in the blog addresses.

3. I created a new blog subdirectory as mysite.com/wordpress/test and it says the link is broken. Any suggestions?

Did you paste in the new htaccess rules? Is mod_rewrite running on the server? If so, it's not reading the file.

5. leahs2
    Posted 13 years ago #