The MU forums have moved to WordPress.org

tc37's thread (23 posts)

1. tc37
    Posted 17 years ago #

I have been reading through this forum for several hours trying to get wordpress MU installed.

I'm a Linux admin and have installed, configured, and customized several popular open source software packages.

I took on a project to install wordpress MU for a customer. I figured that it would be a 5 minute job.

Several hours later, and several modifications to both .htaccess and httpd.conf, I've finally got it figured out.

Here are some given variables in my setup:
    domain name = domain.com
    We will use subdomain install (blog1.domain.com)

I chose the subdomain install because it seemed too difficult to use subdirectories.

Install directory= /home/username/public_html/wpmu
    or http://www.domain.com/wpmu/

First file modified (after the initial install):
    /home/username/public_htmll/wpmu/.htaccess

======here's what it looks like===================
    RewriteEngine On
    RewriteBase /wpmu/ <----changed this to wpmu

==ADD THESE 3 LINES TO ENSURE THAT TRAILING SLASH IS ADDED=
    ==The reason is that if someone does not use a trailing slassh, they will get a 404, these lines append the / automatically
    ===========================================================
    # Add trailing slash on directory request
    RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} -d
    RewriteRule ^/home/username/public_html/(.*[^/])$ $1/ [R,L]
    ==================================================================

===========only modified the third line in this section==
    # Rewrite http://www.domain.com to domain.com
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^www\.(.*)
    RewriteRule ^(.*) http://domain.com/wpmu/$1 [R,L]
    ====original line is below. notice the change above====
    RewriteRule ^(.*) http://%1/$1 [R,L]
    ========================================================

=======didn't modify anything below=====================
    #uploaded files