The MU forums have moved to WordPress.org

Looking for solutions (27 posts)

1. anabelle
    Posted 16 years ago #

Hi Im currently a developer for La Cápsula, a emerging web business in Colombia.

We are currently in charge of Web Solutions for a very important university in our country, Politecnico Grancolombiano (www.poligran.edu.co) and we are starting to develop a community model using wordpress mu, for the universities publications and eventually for students (about 8000 Students)

We decided to host mu in a server different to the university one to avoid conflicts with the engineers and such.

So we bought an account at bluehost.com since we saw it recomended in wordpress.org but for our surprise today while installing mu they told us that bluehost did not support a wildcard subdomain so mu is not able to run using subdomains.

Wich host would you recommend to us in wich mu can be properly installed, or what other solution may we have?

We are really looking forward to start building communities around wordpress in Colombia (there aren't many yet) and we would like it very much if we could get really close to Wordpress Mu core developers so we can start building networks in Colombia.

2. andrea_r
    Posted 16 years ago #

3. lunabyte
    Posted 16 years ago #

With 8000 students, if even 25% of those have a blog (excluding staff), you'd better be looking at a good dedicated server.

I can recommend Server Beach, if you (or someone you know) can handle IT for it. Or, get a box from Rackspace and let them manage it for you.

Shared hosting with that many blogs isn't an option, unless you want them to kick you off.

4. Farms2
    Posted 16 years ago #

Agreed- and I speak from educational experience.

5. selad
    Posted 16 years ago #

I think you can start with shared hosting and then move to vps or dedicated. You write "and eventually for students", when will that be?

We use site5.com and they seem to be fine.

6. drmike
    Posted 16 years ago #