The MU forums have moved to WordPress.org

WPMU Subdomains and server subdomains (17 posts)

1. Leo6681
    Posted 15 years ago #

Hey Everyone,
    Here is the problem I am faced with. I am not very technical and despite having read the read me file as well as many posts on this forum and I can't seem to make head nor tail of what DNS wildcards are, how they work and how to re-configure .htaccess etc etc.

My Problem
    I am able to create a blog in a subdomain
    e.g. newblog.domain.tld

however for that subdomain I would also like the capability to create email addresses
    e.g. johndoe@newblog.domain.tld

When I create the blog it works fine. However when I then create the subdomain to create the email addresses. The blog I created stops working and I get a 500 internal server error.

So My Questions are:

-Is it possible for me to achieve what it is I am trying to achieve?
    -If yes how?

Thanks in advance for your replies

2. cafespain
    Posted 15 years ago #

What server are you running? Is it hosted or a VPS? Does it use Cpanel? Is your email hosted on the domain or externally?

It is very possible, but it depends on your set up as to how it is accomplished.

3. Ovidiu
    Posted 15 years ago #

to be honest I don't think you can make that work, because if you create that blog, wpmu is taking care of the subdomain, i.e. blog.domain.com so whenever someone requests blog.domain.com due to the wildcard dns you have set up any subdomain points to wpmu install which takes care of all possible subdomains.
    If you now create the subdomain inside your control panel, I am pretty sure that will take away the subdomain from wpmu's control.

just my 2c

4. Leo6681
    Posted 15 years ago #

The server specs are

* Dual Quad Core Intel® Xeon® 3.16GHz with 2X6MB Cache
    * 8 GB RAM
    * Dual 136 GB SCSI Drive (for the operating system)
    * RAID Mirroring (for the operating system)
    * Dual Power Supplies
    * Dual Gigabit Network Adapters